Plan & Route – English

One of the questions that people always ask me is: “How do you find your way from one place to another?”. No, I’m not going to use a navigation device or google-maps on my Iphone, but maps on real paper. After searching for a while I found the website of the “Adventure Cycling Association”. They provide a huge network of bicycle-trails all around the U.S. and one can just combine different trails to an individual route.

There were basically two potential routes:

  1. The traditional ‘Transamerica’ route going ‘straight through the middle’ until Colorado. Then it’s taking a turn towards the North, going through Yellowstone and other highlights.
  2. The ‘Southern Tier’, starting in Atlanta or the coast of Georgia (where I have lived for two years), along the Gulfcoast through Texas and ending in southern California.

Finally, I have decided on a mixture of both, because it had always been my dream to start from the Brooklyn Bridge and arrive on the Golden Gate Bridge. With that said, starting in the South wasn’t an option and the end of the Transamerica trail in Seattle was also inconvenient. I also figured that the Southern Tier wouldn’t be the best idea during the hot and humid months of August and September with all the thunderstorms.

Therefore I will bike on my individual route starting in NYC. First, I will be going down South towards Washington D.C. and shortly after that turn towards the West and will be going that way until I hit the Rocky Mountains. From Pueblo it will go into the Rockies with passes as high as 10000 feet (3000 meters). After biking through Cedar City I’m going southward – passing the Grand Canyon – until right before Phoenix where I will meet the Southern Tier which I will follow until San Diego. The last leg will lead me along the Pacific Coast past Los Angeles to San Francisco where I will (hopefully) arrive around November 9th.

The distance of the route is about 7700-8000km (4750-5000 miles) and I will be passing through 13 states (+ Washington D.C.).

I’m looking forward to seeing so many highlights along the way – NYC, Washington D.C., Colorado, the Rocky Mountains, Bryce Canyon National Park, the Grand Canyon, Arizona, the Pacific Coas and so many more. But I’m also curious about the vast plains of the Midwest – there are nicer things you could think of than crossing states like Kansas or Missouri with heavy headwind, but this is part of the ‘charm’ of such an adventure.

Besides the Midwest with the strong winds, I imagine the Appalachian Mountains to be the toughest part of the tour. I will have to cross them at the very beginning of the trip and from what I have heard/read from other cyclists and saw in maps, there are a lot of steep climbs with following descents – just to have another climb again right after it. Of course the Rockies with their enormous ascents and about 20kg (45lbs) of equipment won’t be a piece of cake, but from my previous experience I have to say that long, steady climbs are better to deal with than short, extremely-steep ones with descents inbetween. It can be demoralizing to never really reach a defined peak and to start all over again. In fact it was easier for me to cross the Alps and Pyrenees than to ride around the Massif Central in France which doesn’t have very high mountains. The ‘worst’ ride of my life was the coastal road from the South of France to Barcelona – I was expecting a nice ride along the beach and instead it was a constant up and down with steep climbs. But to be fair, the views were spectacular and it was in fact one of the highlights.

I hope and know that everything will be worth the effort.

Advertisements

Plan & Route

Eine der meistgestellten Fragen ist immer die nach der Route, bzw. wie ich von A nach B, oder in meinem Fall von NYC nach SF auf dem Rad finde. Nein, ich benutze kein Navi oder Google-Maps auf dem Iphone, sondern noch Landkarten aus Papier. Nach längerer Suche stieß ich auf die „Adventure Cycling Association“, die in etwa mit dem ADFC in Deutschland vergleichbar ist. Sie hat ein riesiges Radkarten-Netzwerk im Angebot, welches über die letzten Jahrzehnte von Radfahrern ausgebaut wurde. Dort kann man sich also Karten ‚zusammenstellen‘, um seine gewünschte Route zu finden.

Grundsätzlich gab es für mich zwei mögliche Routen:

  1. Die Klassische ‚Transamerica‘-Route durch die Mitte um dann vor den Rockies Richtung Norden abzubiegen, den Yellowstone Nationalpark und weitere Highlights mitzunehmen.
  2. Die südliche Route, evtl. in Atlanta (wo ich 2 Jahre gelebt habe) startend. Dann die Golfküste entlang, durch Texas und dann im Süden Kaliforniens ankommen.

Entschieden habe ich mich für eine Mischung, denn ich habe mir schon immer vorgestellt, wie ich an der Brooklyn Bridge losfahren würde und an der Golden Gate Bridge ankomme. Somit waren der Start der südlichen Route und die Ankunft des klassischen Transamerica-Weges hoch im Norden in Seattle ungünstig. Gegen den südlichen Verlauf sprach außerdem das Wetter in den Monaten August/September mit schwüler Hitze und vielen Gewittern.

Letztendlich werde ich mich auf meiner etwas zusammengebastelten Route von NYC auf den Weg machen. Von dort in Richtung Süden nach Washington D.C. und im Prinzip erst einmal komplett ‚geradeaus‘ nach Westen bis zu den Rockies. Von Pueblo, Colorado geht es dann in die Rockies bis auf über 10.000 Fuß (3000 Meter). Von Cedar City in Utah geht es dann gen Süden über den Grand Canyon hinweg bis kurz vor Phoenix in Arizona, wo ich auf die südliche Route treffe auf der ich dann das letzte Stück nach San Diego an den Pazifik fahre. Die letzte Etappe führt mich dann an der Pazifikküste entlang, an Los Angeles vorbei bis nach San Francisco, wo ich (hoffentlich) Anfang November ankommen werde.

Insgesamt beträgt die Route circa 7600-8000km und es werden 13 Staaten (+Washington D.C.) durchquert.

Auf der Strecke liegen unglaublich viele Highlights, auf die ich mich freue – NYC, Washington D.C., Colorado, die Rockies, der Bryce Canyon Nationalpark, der Grand Canyon, Arizona, die Pazifikküste, etc. Doch genauso bin ich gespannt auf die endlosen Weiten im mittleren Westen – es gibt sicherlich spannenderes als sich vorzustellen, einen Staat wie Kansas oder Missouri komplett zu durchqueren bei teils heftigem Gegenwind, aber genau diese Teile machen eben den Reiz einer Radtour aus.

Als schwierigsten Teil der Strecke stelle ich mir neben dem mittleren Westen das Appalachengebirge im Osten vor. Das werde ich direkt zu Beginn der Tour überqueren müssen und wie ich von anderen Radfahrern gelesen und in den Karten gesehen habe, sind dort wahnsinnig viele, steile Anstiege mit direkten Abfahrten aneinandergereiht, was unglaublich zermürbend und anstrengend ist. Natürlich werden auch die Rockies mit gewaltigen Anstiegen und circa 20kg Gepäck (inklusive Wasservorrat) kein Kindergeburtstag, aber bisher habe ich die Erfahrung gemacht, dass lange Anstiege psychologisch besser zu bewältigen sind als andauernde kurze, extrem steile mit folgenden Abfahrten. So war es für mich einfacher über die Alpen und die Pyrenäen zu kommen als mich im Zentralmassiv in Frankreich herumzuschlagen und die schlimmste Strecke meines Lebens war die Küstenstraße, die von der französischen Grenze nach Barcelona fährt, auch wenn die Ausblicke und Erfahrungen für alles entschädigen. Und so hoffe und weiß ich, dass es auch diesmal im Endeffekt alle Mühen wert sein wird.

Advertisements