Charity – English

The idea of combining my bike-trip with a good cause has always been on my mind. I had read about other cyclists who had done it and I want to follow a concept that I know from charity-runs back in highschool: I set a price for a kilometer and whoever wants to support the project can buy as many kms as he or she wants to by donating an amount via my link on the donation-website “donare.de”. It really doesn’t matter if you ‘buy’ 1km or 100km, – I (and more importantly: the children who will be supported by the money) would be happy about every contribution. It really would top the adventure off if a nice amount could be donated at the end.

I have decided that 1km should cost 0,25€ which would mean a total of 2000€ (since it’s going to be 8000km). It’s really hard to estimate how many people will participate and donate, but even if the total amount will be smaller than the goal – it will still be a success.
It took me a while to figure out which charity I want to support with my trip, since there are so many to chose from. Finally I picked “Make-a-Wish Deutschland e.V.”. This organization helps children with life-threatening medical conditions to fulfil their biggest dreams – since I am fulfilling my own dream with this trip, I saw a connection and would be glad to help others in this way.

Screenshot Make-A-WishIf you want to donate, you can do so via http://www.donare.de/Coast-to-Coast-2013. The donating-platform ‘donare.de’ is a non-profit-organization and 100% of the money you donate will reach “Make-a-Wish Deutschland e.V.”. Credit Cards (Mastercard/Visa) are accepted and for the non-German speakers, I have put a translation of the donating-process on my donare-page. You can also donate anonymously if you’d like.

It’s important to donate via my donare-page since the amount is then shown on the “donation-counter” on my page and will contribute to the goal I have set. Besides donating money, it would of course also be helpful if this blog and the facebook-page reach many friends and relatives in order to have a bigger audience. If you would ‘share’ it, more donors can be found or people who are just interested in following the trip – both would be nice.

Since donare.de is in German only, I have translated the process for English-speakers. You can find a step-by-step instruction here. If you have any questions regarding the donation-process or anything else, feel free to send a mail to c2c13@gmx.de or a personal message via facebook.

donare-button

Advertisements

Der gute Zweck / Charity

Die Idee, meine Amerika-Radtour mit einem karitativen Zweck zu verbinden, habe ich schon seit langem. Ich hatte von anderen Radreisenden mit ähnlichen Ideen gelesen und habe mir überlegt, das Konzept der Spendenläufe, die ich aus meiner Schulzeit kenne, zu übernehmen. Ich setze also einen den “Kaufpreis” für einen km fest und wer das Projekt unterstützen möchte, kann dies ganz einfach über den angegebenen Spendenlink der Seite donare.de tun. Es ist völlig egal, ob man einen Kilometer oder 100 ‚kauft‘  – ich (und noch wichtiger: diejenigen denen das Geld hilft) würde mich über jeden Betrag freuen und es würde die Tour abrunden, wenn am Ende ein schöner Betrag zusammenkäme.

Ich setze den Preis pro Kilometer einfach mal bei 0,25€ fest und wenn am Ende auch ‚nur‘ so viel zusammenkommt, dass es 0,10€ pro Kilometer sind, wäre es ein Erfolg.

Ich beschäftigte mich einige Zeit mit der Frage, welche Organisation ich unterstützen sollte, da es ein riesiges Angebot gibt. Letztendlich entschloss ich mich für Make-a-Wish Deutschland e.V. Diese Organisation hilft lebensbedrohlich erkrankten Kindern ihren größten Wunsch wahrwerden zu lassen – da ich mir mit der Tour einen großen Wunsch erfülle, sah ich eine gewisse Verbindung und würde mich freuen, auf diesem Weg anderen zu helfen.

Screenshot Make-A-WishWer spenden möchte, kann dies über http://www.donare.de/Coast-to-Coast-2013 tun. Die Spendenplattform donare ist selbst eine non-profit-Organisation und die Spenden kommen zu 100% bei Make-a-Wish Deutschland e.V. an. Es werden alle üblichen Zahlungswege (auch Kreditkarten) akzeptiert und bei Bedarf wird von donare auch eine Spendenquittung ausgestellt. Man kann entweder anonym spenden oder zusätzlich noch eine Grußbotschaft hinterlassen.

Wichtig ist, über meinen donare-Link zu spenden, da der jeweilige Betrag dann meinem Spendenziel auf der Seite gutgeschrieben wird. Außerdem wäre es natürlich eine Hilfe, wenn dieser Blog bzw. die Facebookseite möglichst viele Freunde und Bekannte erreicht um ein größeres Publikum anzusprechen. Wenn ihr es also ‚teilt‘, würde es helfen mögliche Spender oder einfach nur Interessierte an der Reise zu finden – beides wäre schön.

Falls irgendwelche Fragen bestehen sollten, bitte an c2c13@gmx.de oder via Facebook schreiben.

donare-button

Advertisements